top of page

From Petra With Giardia

Updated: Apr 16, 2022

As part of my Master's research, I was fortunate to be a part of an archaeological excavation at Petra. They say that memories are the best souvenirs and I found myself taking home an unexpected one. Artifacts aren't the only thing that lives in soil. At some point during the field season I had unknowingly picked up some parasitic intruders. Spending a day in the field house having all fluids forcefully evacuate my body followed by nearly two months of diarrhea which spanned a 13-hour international flight and a significantly prolonged lay-over in the O’Hare airport is definitely a memory I won’t soon forget.


I really was okay with the scarf…

15 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

share your own science tale

Just click the button below!

Questions on submission guidelines? Check out our submissions page for more information!

bottom of page