top of page

Waterlogged Lungworms

My undergraduate thesis project was about detecting lungworm DNA in muskox poop. Lungworms are a type of parasitic worm that can reach fairly absurd lengths, so the project was pretty gross (in a fun way) all around. To test various methods, I needed some lungworms to use as controls, so my collaborators packed some in ice, and sent them to me from the other side of the country. Unfortunately, Canada Post was not ready to handle the task...the package arrived completely melted, thoroughly soggy, and containing some very decomposed worm bits. I maybe should have opted for the express shipping.

5 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

From Petra With Giardia

As part of my Master's research, I was fortunate to be a part of an archaeological excavation at Petra. They say that memories are the best souvenirs and I found myself taking home an unexpected one.

share your own science tale

Just click the button below!

Questions on submission guidelines? Check out our submissions page for more information!

bottom of page